Day 20: Seeing Differently

The assignment today is to write about a family photograph. As it is also Easter, I thought I’d share an Easter photo from my childhood. We have one for every year — from when there were three kids, to the time my older brother left home. About.

Okay…so I went searching for Easter photos and couldn’t find one with the baskets and all (often taken outside). But this could be an Easter picture. Looking at it, I found my brain going in a completely different direction than Easter. Or maybe not. Isn’t Lent (culminating in Easter) all about seeing differently? 

*

What She Doesn’t See

My mother said that I needed glasses when no one else did
because I always had my nose

in a book. My dad, more generous, thought the books
all right, but for heaven’s sake, turn on a light.

I wonder now what I was afraid to see,
what made me out of four siblings and my clear-sighted parents

the one person with specs. Oh, too bad, 
Mom said, Boys don’t make passes at girls who wear glasses.

Did I care about that? Didn’t I keep trying, mightily,
to fall through the lines and into the story, 

and, by contrast, out of mine? But, why?

 

Leave a Reply

